Skip navigation

Brian Fetherstonhaugh, Chairman and CEO of OgilvyOne Worldwide said that “Wikinomics illuminates the trust we are seeing in markets around the globe.  The more you share, the more you win.  Wikinomics sheds light on the many faces of business collaboration and presents a powerful new strategy for business leaders in a world where customers, employees, and low-cost producers are seizing control.”  How many times did your mom and dad say to you, “you have to share?”  Why can’t we take that idea into the corporate world?  Wow, can you imagine a business world discussed in Wikinomics based solely on “community, collaboration and self-organization?”  Can you imagine a business world where we all come together, share ideas and make those ideas reality?  I wish I could imagine that.  Most business models in today’s society are structured in a very hierarchical manner.  Every department is based on employee and supervisor and every person is striving for the higher classification or title.  I was visiting a friend at T.G.I.Friday’s yesterday and she was talking about this idea.  Of course, I did not see it at the time.  She explained that the restaurant would be so much more successful if the managers could treat the employees as equals, and if they could not manage the equals bit, at least treat them like adults.  At the end of the day, people want to be respected.  They want to feel that their ideas are important to management.  Aren’t we all more productive in a collaborative and respectful environment?

As you have seen on my blog, I am the biggest advocate for personal contact.  I love this idea on lifehack.orgSet up an online “water cooler” for your employees.  Obviously, this will not replace face time, but it is a great alternative.  It is a place to talk about what you watched on television over the weekend, see if a coworker can help you move this week or just connect with one another over something other than work.  I love this idea. 

I have been really inspired by what Wikinomics has to say.  I love this quote, “These changes, among others, are ushering us toward a world where knowledge, power, and productive capability will be more dispersed than at any time in our history.”  I must admit I am one of those people that suffer from “star struck” syndrome in the business world.  I have a tendency to feel, wow he or she is a CEO of such and such, they would never want to collaborate with me.  The “wiki way is changing all of this.  People really do want to share their ideas.   

So, let’s talk about my plan for next week.  Another article from lifehack.org talks about the need for us to “wikify” our lives.  I have decided to wikify my own life.  I honestly can’t imagine having everything in one place.  How many times have you found a new song or thought of an addition to your to-do list and simply forgotten to write it down?  Well, you simply need to have a wiki.  You can include anything and everything in one place.  Your Outlook does not hold the keys to all of your reminders.  So, try to wikify your life this week and see how it goes.

One Comment

  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

    Tina Russell


Leave a Reply

