Skip navigation

Scobel and Israel say in, Naked Conversations “Consultants, by nature, are often the sorts who like to try out new things.”  I will admit that as an events professional and consultant, I am the first to seek after new and exciting ideas and technology designed for the business.  However, I want to take their idea a little further.  Consider that as bloggers we are all consultants.  We are all sharing our knowledge, expertise and opinions with the globe.  Of course, I can write paragraph after paragraph on the newest flooring for a stage or the options for linen patterns, but I would rather talk about the mistakes I have made as a new event professional.  I would rather share the very few nuggets of wisdom I have to offer regarding those first few days when the details make your brain spin and the contracts make you go cross-eyed.  Just like Scobel and Israel point out, blogs are a conversation.  To me they are a dialogue or thought that often opens my eyes to new ideas or as I hope to contribute, save me from making the same mistakes twice.  So, at the end of the day, I would propose that bloggers are consultants in their own right.

Jay Rosen proposes that when things go awry after countless media predictions it is perfectly OK to say “the beast did this.”  Rosen, of course, referring the brainless beast we all know and love, Big Media.  How often have you listened to a broadcast regarding an upcoming primary or election, and heard the overwhelming consensus that “so and so” is a shoe-in.  I have to admit, I have gone to bed early thinking I all ready knew the outcome; only to wake up the next day and find that the anchorwoman I trust led me astray.  Regardless, I see Jay Rosen as a consultant.  He openly consults me to think for myself and to not get caught up in the urge to trust whatever “all American” face I see on the nightly news.  He consults me that “gangs have leaders, which means a mind.  That’s more than you can say about the media.”  Now, at times, I may find these observations a little harsh, but I also find that this observation encourages me to think for myself. 

The different bloggers on Gigaom do not seem like consultants.  They often report on other articles and occasionally ad a few of their own thoughts.  Of course, this is a valid way of blogging and having a conversation, however, this is not a way of consulting.  Personally, I prefer blogs that consult others on certain types of information that fall within the bloggers realm of expertise or knowledge base. 

Scobel and Israel make a point to refer to blogs as a conversation.  There is one problem with this definition.  Yes, most blogs do allow readers to comment, but, in many cases, blogs exist with little commenting.  I know that I can have a conversation with myself, but it is not very fun.  In the same way that talking to yourself may raise a few eyebrows, a blog that rarely receives comments will lose its effectiveness.  The lack of dialogue shows that readers are not intrigued, or are not learning anything from the blog, or simply do not see a reason to further the conversation.  The two way conversation is necessary to make a blog successful.  For example, have you ever noticed that you come away with significantly less information from a class where only the professor talks, than a class where you are encouraged to actively participate and activate your critical thinking skills.  The process can easily be applied to blogging.  A blog that actively engages the reader and asks relevant questions will successfully engage the reader and draw them into the topic at hand.  Don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

